Krissy’s Red Carpet Oscar Winners…

Karina had some great picks for her Red Carpet Winners! Penelope, Kate & Jen definitely looked stunning on the red carpet for the 2009 Academy Awards. I always love the unveiling of the elegant gowns these actresses choose when the Oscars come around. While neither of my 3 picks won an award last night (2 of the ladies were presenters), they won in my eyes as trendsetters with amazing grace and style.

Pick One: Taraji P. Henson who was nominated for best supporting actress in, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button looked phenomenal in her white tiered gown by Roberto Cavalli. I have to say a reoccurring theme I noticed at the Oscars was the comeback of white, ivory and champagne colored gowns. (I get the feeling Michelle Obama influenced this trend with her gorgeous white Jason Wu inaugural gown). The gown fit Taraji’s figure perfectly. Her hair, jewelry (by Fred Leighton) , & red clutch tied in such a beautiful and elegant look. You may also remember Taraji rockin’ a simple white gown at the SAG awards in January. What I loved about Taraji in both white gowns was that she accomplished two completely different looks for the proper events. Finally, how can this woman be 38 years old?!?!? She looks 10 years younger AT LEAST 🙂 Taraji was my favorite from the night!

81st_hensont_01

Taraji P. Henson (Oscars)

tarajiwhite-dress

Taraji P. Henson (SAG Awards)

Pick Two: Alicia Keys who presented this year in a lilac Armani Prive gown was at her BEST! Yes, I am putting it out there peeps…she looked the best she ever has from any awards ceremony since she stepped on the scene in 2001. She looked gorgeous, classy, but most of all she looked timeless. I feel like I can look at this pic 20 years now and NOT say, “what was she thinking?,” but rather, “WOW! She had some style!” Her hair was sexy and her skin was flawless. This color also looked fantastic on her, and it was nice to see her in this bright color.

81st_keysa_02

Alicia Keys

Pick Three: Natalie Portman, another presenter at the awards stood out in this pink gown by Rodarte. The gown was amazing on her, I love the material (chiffon), the design, the color & flow. There was a simplicity about the gown, but if you look at the gem studded detail at the top-it is just beautiful and actually very intricate. Her skin tone is beautiful with this color. I think Natalie chose the perfect dress for the right event. It was definitely “just right” and she was a favorite for “best dressed” on many of the reviews I’ve seen.

81st_portmann_01

It was so exciting to see the “LUSH” fashions from last night’s awards! Metallic still proved to be in as well as gem studded detail on many of the dresses. While I can’t afford these designer gowns it was such a great inspiration for formal spring events. Stay tuned for what I come up with for the April 4th wedding I will be attending.

~Krissy

Leave a Reply

