Sweating..its the “pits”

I’ve always wanted to lend advice about my profuse sweating for girls (or guys for that matter) with the same problem. When I was in jr. high and high school, I thought I was a FREAK. I would sweat profusely out of my arm pits no matter what deodorant I tried, how many times I showered or what tricks I read about. The good thing was that it never smelled, it was just sweat. Still, it was a REAL inconvenience and embarrassing. As I got older, I finally accepted it and saw a dermatologist.

It turned out I had a condition called hyperhidrosis. That is a just a fancy word for profuse sweating. In my case it was only my arm pits that I was sweating from, but people suffer this in their hands, feet, and groin area as well. My doctor made me feel a lot better about this situation and said that Hyperhidrosis is a VERY common problem. He said that 1 in 4 people are affected by it and the most popular cases are in the hands and armpits. From http://www.wikipedia.com “The cause of primary hyperhidrosis is unknown, although some surgeons claim that it is caused by sympathetic overactivity. Anxiety can exacerbate the situation for many sufferers. A common complaint of patients is that they get nervous because they sweat, then sweat more because they are nervous. Other factors can play a role; certain foods & drinks, nicotine, caffeine, and smells can trigger a response.”

My doctor gave me 3 treatments to consider to help get my sweating under control

  • Prescription Deodorant
  • Botox Injections
  • Oral Medication

The Botox Injections was the most appealing, but is considered cosmetic so it is VERY pricey at $600-$900 for 1 session and it would work for 9 months. I had a friend who tried this and it worked magnificently! In my case, My husband was against it because he felt its healthy to sweat and unhealthy to clog my sweat glands with botox.

The Oral Medication also seemed appealing & easy, but my doctor warned me that it would dry out my whole body meaning my eyes and mouth would constantly be dry. As a contact wearer, this option didn’t seem right for me either.

I opted for the Prescription deodorant which works great but is a bit of a pain. You have to apply it at night and it stings a bit (the sting means its working!). I always forget to put it on, but if I remember at least once or twice a week it really helps reduce the sweating all week. (I use regular deodorant in the morning daily too).

If you suffer from this problem, I really recommend you see a doctor because there is a solution! For super EXTREME cases there is even surgery. Trust me, I really know how it feels to have this. Its a pain, but its not the end of the world. You are normal and it can be treated.

If you have a less severe case of sweating in your armpits, there are a lot of new products/tricks that may help you without seeing a doctor. I recommend the following

  • Dove or Secret Prescription Strength Deodorant (Sold at Local Drug Stores)
  • Apply baby powder to your armpits prior to putting on your deodorant, rub it in good and make sure your armpits are completely dry.
  • Waxing or Shaving your armpits will also eliminate sweating
  • Some people have allergies to certain fabrics and that will cause sweat, wear loose fitting shirts, tank tops or 100% pure cotton t-shirts.

If you have any questions regarding this post or want to give any tips on your experience with this, please email us or leave a comment. We would love to hear!

6 Responses

  1. Waxing your underarms SIGNIFICANTLY improves the sweating!!!! I love waxing my pits! LOL 🙂

  2. This one is for me too…I’m gonna try the baby powder trick. Thanks for the tip!

  3. oh my gosh…I used to have this problem and then I had a spinal cord injury…PROBLEM SOLVED! (the injury affected my sweating…I never sweat!)

    However, as I am not a Dr. ;)…. I would not recommend such drastic measures….. hahaaaa!!!!

  4. Hey Krissy,
    I work at Pink Sneakers Productions and we are currently casting our new documentary series called “Life Chronicles” which will be on the TLC network.
    I am really interested to hear more about your experience with hyperhidrosis. One of the episodes in this series is on difficult diseases, such as hyperhidrosis, that can be self conscious. The goal is to keep complete respect for all participants and approach the documentary in the style you want to be portrayed in. We are interested in learning and enlightening our viewers about how someone copes with a disease like hyperhidrosis and some of the conflicts you have had with this skin disorder throughout your life. If you are interested in being involved and would like to talk further about this documentary series, please contact us at casting@pinksneakers.net. I hope to talk to you soon!

    Ashley Edgar

  5. I went through so much of my life, self-conscious to ever shake hands or give high fives. My wet, slimy, sweaty palms held me back through so many social interactions. It’s really hard to believe it took me so long to finally find the natural treatments that ended this problem for me.

    Anyway, I DID it! And now, life has really completely changed for me. I know that sounds a bit exaggerated but – truly – not having sweaty hands anymore has changed my life!

    If you’re suffering from sweating hands, I totally empathize. I’ve been there and it’s pretty miserable. The good news, however, is that I’m about to give you some great natural treatments to remedy your problem and get you results FAST! Let’s get to it shall we?

    Here, I’ll be showing you the three sweaty palm treatments that relieved the sweat from my hands and gave me my confidence back. You’re going to love not feeling self conscious anymore after your hands start staying dry for days on end without even a hint of perspiration.

    Drysol – This powerful, prescription strength anti-perspirant packs a big punch. You’ll want to speak with your dermatologist to get a prescription for Drysol. Once you pick it up from your pharmacy, read the directions carefully. It’s a super strong topical deodorant that you put on once at night. Apply it to your palms and let it air dry before bedtime.

    Now, a word of caution here. Drysol is VERY strong. If you use it for days on end, you may experience some stinging or irritation. If that’s the case, simply spread out the days that you apply this topical.

    Baking Soda & Water – This is a simple yet effective remedy to sweaty hands. Get a nice big plastic bowl and fill it with water. Add a generous amount of baking soda until the water resembles a cloudy mix. Soak your hands in the solution for 15-20 minutes. Do this for a few days in a row and you’ll notice a significant difference.

    Here’s how it works. Baking soda is an alkaline whereas, sweat is an acid. When your palm sweat mixes with the baking soda residue, it turns to gas and instantly evaporates. This amazing combination will keep your hands dry consistently after repeating this treatment consecutively for a few days.

    Sage Tea – Sage Tea contains high levels of Tannic Acid, a natural astringent. Fill a big bowl with water and add 4 or 5 tea bags (sage tea is preferred). Do this for a few days and you’ll condition your skin not to sweat. This totally works, so you should try it out. Do the soak for about 20 minutes at a time.

    Your skin may be a bit tanned after you take it out of the Sage Tea solution. Don’t freak out. It’ll wash away with a little soap and water.

    This is just the beginning. If you REALLY want to end your excessive hand sweating in a matter of days, you absolutely NEED to check out the FREE Sweat Tactics Video on http://www.Prevent-Sweating.com. Remember, the fastest way to end you palms sweating is to take action. Start right now!

  6. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people for this topic, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

