I <3 Earth

earth-day-and-kids1On Earth day I find myself reflecting on how green I’m being. Especially after watching today’s Oprah! I have a sudden urge to go out and buy more kitchen towels, and stop using paper towels every 5 minutes. I want to go buy cloth diapers, cause I don’t want my daughter’s poopy diapers in landfills for eternity (this one is probably not going to happen if I’m being realistic), but will encourage me to potty train her sooner. I want to stop using plastic bags, recycle more, and donate and reuse as much as possible.

Here are some things that we can all do to make our world more green, we’ve all heard them before, but we can all use a reminder. These are just a few suggestions to get you started on a more green path.

  • Replace all the bulbs in your house with energy savings one. Energy savings bulbs will save you upto 70% in utility bills and at the same time help out to make world greener by using less electricity.
  • Unplug appliances which are not in use. Even some of the chargers like your laptop charger, consumes some energy while plugged in to outlet even when there is nothing is plugged in the other side. That home entertainment system or just a cable box you have sitting around, consumes energy. All this could add upto significant $$’s. One of the products worth looking at: Smart Strip Power Strip
  • Use less paper! Opt in for online statements. This alone will save a lot of paper and in turn will protect the trees!
  • Paper or plastic? ALWAYS pick paper. Plastic bags are VERY hard to recycle.
  • If you live close to stores, work or any other destinations, walk there instead of driving. You save on some pollution and at the same time it’s good exercise. We really don’t walk enough in this country!
  • Use a programmable thermometer so you don’t  have to keep the heat or air conditioning running while your not even home. Keep it at 68-69 in the winter time, and 75 or higher in the summer time.

Happy Earth Day everyone!

One Response

  1. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

Leave a comment