You Are What You Eat – I’ll Have a Supersize of Youth

787671331Like most women, I am always seeking a way to preserve my youth. I am 28 years old, and I still don’t have many wrinkles, but I know they are around the corner and I will do everything in my power to slow down the aging process. Well maybe not everything…

I have been using anti-aging eye cream since I was 18, lotioning up my face and body every day since I can remember, using spf on my face even though I must admit tanning is my down fall. Has it worked? Who knows, I guess it’s too early to tell, but that will not stop me from taking precaution in the hopes that I look youthful as long as possible.

I often look at women in other cultures and wonder why that specific group of people age so well. For example my mother-in-law is of African descent and she looks 30 at the age of 50. She often gets mistaken for my husband’s sister. She claims she was too busy to age… that’s her secret.

81960231And what about women of Asian descent, who always look so young with flawless skin?

As I looked into this I came across a very interesting concept that is particularly sweeping Japan. Japanese women are embracing a whole new way of eating. The new HOT antidote to aging is eating COLLAGEN. Not injecting, not applying, but eating it!

Weather it’s a trend or not, across the county there is a growing number of “beauty” restaurants that are geared for anti-aging dining. They serve anything from dishes which are naturally rich in collagen such as pigs trotters, shark fin and chicken skin to collagen hot pots in which clear chunks of the translucent tasteless protein are melted into a medley of vegetables, meat or fish.

Supermarkets and convenience stores are now piled high with collagen-rich food products such as noodles, sweets and supplements.

Is this a silly fad or is it worth trying? Some scientists say that eating collagen is no more effective an anti-aging method than consuming any other protein-rich food. But what if this protein is a little more special? This article says:

“Collagen is a type of protein, and works with keratin to provide the skin with strength, smoothness, elasticity and resilience. It is produced by the skin and other parts of the body. When you are young, you have an abundance of collagen in your body, which is why young children have such lovely shiny hair and smooth skin. It is referred to, as the cement which holds everything together. As you age collagen production declines and weakening of the skin occurs, this is when skin wrinkles, necks become saggy, lines form around eyes and mouth.”

collegenThis article doesn’t encourage to eat translucent chunks of collagen but it names some other foods to boost up your collagen: soy products, dark green vegetables, beans, Vitamin C rich fruits & vegetables, prunes, omega acids, flaxseed, turkey, just to name a few.

I guess it wouldn’t hurt to eat more collagen-rich food; I like the skin on the chicken anyway.

Would you eat pure collagen?

One Response

  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for posting. I’ll certainly be subscribing to your blog.

Leave a Reply

