Find a Cause…..

A goal of mine since 2005 has been to walk or volunteer for a cause. There are people out there who need money raised for rehabilitation and/or research for their illness or disability. I’ve learned to be extremly thankful for where I am today. You do not have to be rich or a celebrity to do good for others. I have participated in 2 fundraisers in the last year and each fundraiser was successful, fun and for a very worthy cause.

On Sunday, May 3, 2009 I joined more than 16,000 walkers and volunteers across Illinois in the Walk MS 2009. The money raised at the Walk MS 2009 supports programs, services and vital research into the cause and cure of multiple sclerosis.

It was such a rewarding experience. When I was first asked to pick a goal of how much I thought I could raise, I entered $200. Then I thought about it and decided to make it a goal of $500. With the awesome support of my friends and family, I met the goal. Our team in the walk raised over $4,000 and donations are still being received.

MS Walk 2009 Chicago Lake Front

MS Walk 2009 Chicago Lake Front

In October of 2008, an opportunity came to join a cause very close to my heart. A friend of mine since Jr. High, Becky Torres was in a car accident and was paralyzed when we were in 8th Grade. Becky is an incredible inspiration to me. She is one of the smartest and most talented individuals I have ever met. Becky with her friends, family and community created an organization called Backbones. From her group page on facebook, BACKBONES is in the process of becoming a long standing network for people with spinal cord injury (SCI).” The event I participated in a was a Bowl-A-Thon. My cousins, neighbor, & sisters joined our bowling team and we raised over $700 for Backbones and came in 2nd place for our efforts. We had a fantastic time at the bowl-a-thon and raising money. It gave me so much hope that this was only the beginning of what others can do to help.

2008 BACKBONES Bowl-A-Thon

2008 BACKBONES Bowl-A-Thon

My Lush360 counter parts also walked for a cause. They participated in the 2008 March of Dimes, March for Babies walk in Downtown Chicago. This was an important walk for both Karina and Faby. Both of their babies were born 5 weeks early. From the March for Babies website, “..the money you raise supports programs in your community that help moms have healthy, full-term pregnancies. And it funds research to find answers to the serious problems that threaten our babies.”

2008 March of Dimes, March for Babies

2008 March of Dimes, March for Babies

It doesn’t matter what you do or what you support, but find a cause that is important to you. Imagine what our generation can change if we start getting out and DOING SOMETHING. This is beneficial for all of us. Our generation could be the one that finds the cure for AIDS.

There are endless causes that you can choose or you can start your own organization. If you have a friend walking or participating in a fundraiser-donate to their cause, whether its $5, $10, $15 -you are helping and it feels great.

3 Responses

  1. Nowadays chance of twin and multiple pregnancies is increasing as moms are delaying their pregnancy into 30’s. In 30’s or beyond when age-related hormonal changes may cause more than one egg to be released at a time. This causes twin pregnancy.

  2. Well said, and a good reminder for us all. There is always a way to reach outside ourselves and help others. Inspiring!
    http://www.newmommyteesandjeans.com

  3. i was starting to presume i would probably end up being the sole individual whom thought about this, at the very least at this point i acknowledge i’m not loonie 🙂 i am going to make sure to check out some other posts right after i get a tad of caffeine in me, it is actually rough to read without my coffee, I was up late last night playing facebook poker and after getting my fill with a few ales i finished up losing all my zynga poker chips take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

